Dayton Scouts receive honors at summer camp

Left to right are Marshall Wells, Texas Brown, Adam King, Sammy Wells, Troy Griffin, George Gonzales, Regan King, Draven Guidry, Andrew Guidry, Lance Martin, Marcus Hamilton, Wint Seal, Paul Newton, Joshua Koons, Sheridon Graves, Seth Blankenship and Robert Balfour with Troop 8.
2918 dayton troop 2
Troop 8 Leadership Corps (left to right) includes Sammy Wells, Senior Patrol Leader Marshall Wells, and Assistant Senior Patrol Leader Adam King, Order of the Arrow Representative.

Boy Scout Troop 8 returned home last week from Bear Creek Scout Reservation in Hunt, Texas, where they received top honors for their achievements. Bear Creek Scout Reservation is a nationally accredited Boy Scout summer camp nestled in the Texas Hill Country near Kerrville where Scouts from across the State of Texas and beyond gather for weeks of Scouting fun. Bear Creek features a double barrel water slide, a 1,400-foot tandem zip line, shooting sports, and BMX biking.

By fully participating in numerous camp activities, Troop 8 was awarded the Uncle Duder (pronounced “doo-der”) Camper and Honor Troop award. This honor is bestowed upon Troops who go the extra mile at camp by participating in service and conservation activities including flag ceremonies and campfire entertainment.

Additionally, Troop 8 placed third in the Bear Creek Games. In the Bear Creek Games, Troop 8’s skills of knot tying, swimming, pioneering, marksmanship, and environmental knowledge was pitted against other Troops in attendance.

A wide range of merit badges were offered at Bear Creek Scout Reservation this year. Merit badges in Kayaking, Movie Making, Swimming, First Aid, Fishing, Fly Fishing, Lifesaving, and Metalwork were just some of the badges earned. In all, Troop 8 Scouts earned over 35 merit badges at camp this summer.

Proud of his Troop, Senior Patrol Leader Sammy Wells credits much of this year’s success to the leadership in the Troop. “Troop 8’s Patrol Leaders Council and Leadership Corps helped organize and run the Troop the way it should be run,” Wells said. “The awards were the natural outcome.”

And finally, Assistant Scoutmaster Robert Balfour won first place in the Scoutmaster’s Cobbler Cookoff competition. Robert amazed the judges with his secret Dutch oven peach cobbler recipe and won against tough competition.

Sponsored by First Baptist Church of Dayton, Texas, Boy Scout Troop 8 is the largest Boy Scout Troop in Liberty County and Trinity District. Being a full uniform, Scout run Troop, BSA Troop 8 holds monthly camping activities and regularly attends summer and winter camps in Texas and/or Louisiana each year.

Troop 8 meets weekly on Tuesday nights at 6:30 p.m. at First Baptist Church in Dayton and is open to any young man who has completed the fifth grade and at least 10 or 11 years old, but has not reached age 18.

For more information, please attend a Troop meeting or visit About Scouting The mission of the Boy Scouts of America is to prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law.

The Three Rivers Council serves over 4100 boys and girls in Polk, Liberty, San Jacinto, Chambers, Jefferson, Orange, Hardin, Tyler, Jasper and Newton counties. For information about Scouting in your community, please visit or call 409-842-5240.

2918 dayton troop 3
Robert Balfour receives his first place prize for his Dutch oven cobbler.
2918 dayton troop 4
Scout Adam King walks the plank on the 1,400-foot tandem zip line with the horizon of the Texas Hill Country in the background.
Previous articleCleveland chamber hosts networking luncheon
Next articleL-D chamber readies for ‘500 drawing’
Before creating Bluebonnet News in 2018, Vanesa Brashier was a community editor for the Houston Chronicle/Houston Community Newspapers. During part of her 12 years at the newspapers, she was assigned as the digital editor and managing editor for the Humble Observer, Kingwood Observer, East Montgomery County Observer and the Lake Houston Observer, and the editor of the Dayton News, Cleveland Advocate and Eastex Advocate. Over the years, she has earned more than two dozen writing awards, including Journalist of the Year.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.