Hardin band members celebrated at end-of-year fête

Hardin High School Marching Band's Director Glenn Zamazal (back row, far right) and Asst. Director Meagan Tantillo (back row, far left) are shown with students who received awards on Thursday at the band's end-of-year banquet. Pictured also are (back row) Jaci Sims, Aris Lopez, Jaime Hernandez, Linda Yeo, Laura Barrett; (front row) Emily Jackson, Alissa Aragonez, Samantha Keasling, Jaden West, Elizabeth Powell, Whitney Bess and Estrella Bolanos. Not pictured is Vicente Alvarado.

The Hardin High School Marching Band, often called The Pride of Hardin, held an awards banquet on Thursday, May 2, to recognize the band members’ achievements for the year and to present awards to those who made the biggest impact on the overall success of the band.

Samantha Keasling, one of the band’s two drum majors, is the recipient of the Sousa Award, an honor she received for being an encouragement to other band members and helping Band Director Glenn Zamazal as he transitioned mid-school year from assistant band director.

Keasling and other graduating seniors – Aris Lopez, Lily Nash, Linda Yeo, Carlo Grant, JC McShan, Jaci Sims (drum major), Allyson Jackson, Vicente Alvarado, Ethan McCoy and Elton Thompson – were recognized. Each received a small gift for their contributions to the band.

Other awards were as follows:

  • Most Improved Freshman – Jaden West
  • Outstanding Freshman – Alissa Aragonez
  • Most Improved Sophomore – Estrella Bolanos
  • Outstanding Sophomore – Whitney Bess
  • Most Improved Junior – Elizabeth Powell
  • Outstanding Junior – Laura Barrett
  • Most Improved Senior – Vicente Alvarado
  • Outstanding Senior – Jaci Sims
  • Director’s Award – Linda Yeo
  • State Solo/Ensemble – Aris Lopez, Emily Jackson, Laura Barrett, Jaci Sims and Jaime Hernandez.

Helping Zamazal lead the band is Assistant Director Meagan Tantillo.

The Hardin High School Marching Band will lose several students this year to graduation. Pictured are (back row, left to right) Aris Lopez, Lily Nash, Linda Yeo, Carlo Grant, JC McShan; (front row) Samantha Keasling, Jaci Sims and Allyson Jackson. Not pictured are Vicente Alvarado, Ethan McCoy and Elton Thompson.
Previous articleGeorge H. Shirley, Sr.
Next articleLiberty County indictments for March and April 2019
Before creating Bluebonnet News in 2018, Vanesa Brashier was a community editor for the Houston Chronicle/Houston Community Newspapers. During part of her 12 years at the newspapers, she was assigned as the digital editor and managing editor for the Humble Observer, Kingwood Observer, East Montgomery County Observer and the Lake Houston Observer, and the editor of the Dayton News, Cleveland Advocate and Eastex Advocate. Over the years, she has earned more than two dozen writing awards, including Journalist of the Year.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.