Liberty County Republican candidates draw for ballot positions

Local candidates running for office on the March 3 Republican primary drew for ballot positions Thursday, Dec. 19, on the steps of the Liberty County Courthouse.

A long-standing tradition of drawing for positions on the ballot was held Thursday, Dec. 19, on the steps of the Liberty County Courthouse. Republicans met at 2 p.m. and Democrats at 5:15 p.m. One by one, local candidates facing an opposed election picked their ballot positions.

As the only contested races in the March 3 primary election involve Republican candidates, ballot positions are more crucial this year for Republican candidates, but Republican Party Chairman Ryan Daniel says ballot positions provide little advantage.

“Some people believe that if they get the first place on the ballot that people will vote for the first name. It’s a common belief that you will get some votes automatically, but I’ve seen many cases where the second, third or fourth candidate wins the race,” said Daniel, who is seeking his third term as chairman unopposed.

The contested races on the Republican primary ballot will reflect these positions:

District Attorney

  • Logan Pickett
  • Jennifer Bergman

County Court at Law 2

  • Zack Zbranek
  • Michelle Mangum-Merendino
  • Wesley Hinch
  • Farrah Harper
  • Terry Bacon

Commissioner, Pct. 1

  • James Carson
  • Rodney Williams
  • Bruce Karbowski
  • Toby Wilburn

Commissioner, Pct. 3

  • David Whitmire
  • James “Boo” Reaves

County Constable, Pct. 1

  • Jacob Cantu
  • Bill Griffin
  • Tammy Bishop
  • Wayne Moody

County Constable, Pct. 4

  • Robby Thornton
  • Gordon Bean

County Constable, Pct. 6

  • Zack Harkness
  • John Joslin
  • Cedric McDuffie

Running unopposed on the Republican ballot are Sheriff Bobby Rader, Pct. 2 Constable Les Hulsey, Pct. 3 Constable Mark Davison, Pct. 5 Constable David Hunter, County Attorney Matthew Poston and Tax Assessor-Collector Ricky Brown.

Running unopposed on the Democratic ballot are candidates Barbara McIntyre for Pct. 3 commissioner, Martin Trahan for Pct. 1 constable, Ronald Blake for Pct. 1 Commissioner and Michael Mark for Democratic Party chair.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.