Liberty County scales back operations at trash collection sites due to COVID-19

Starting next Wednesday, July 22, Liberty County’s four waste disposal sites in Pct. 1 and Pct. 2, also known as transfer stations, will be closed except for Wednesdays and Saturdays of each week between the hours of 7 a.m. and 5:30 p.m.

The change in hours and days of operation is due to the ongoing risk of COVID-19, according to Pct. 1 Commissioner Bruce Karbowski.

“We will only be accepting household waste, which includes items you might find from cleaning out your shed or garage. It cannot be commercial trash,” he said.

This affects the the County’s waste disposal sites in Raywood, Daisetta, Rye and Tarkington Prairie, not trash collection schedules in incorporated cities.

Previous articleLouie “Lee” Elmer Robinson
Next articleDepartment of Justice announces takedown of key MS-13 criminal leadership
Before creating Bluebonnet News in 2018, Vanesa Brashier was a community editor for the Houston Chronicle/Houston Community Newspapers. During part of her 12 years at the newspapers, she was assigned as the digital editor and managing editor for the Humble Observer, Kingwood Observer, East Montgomery County Observer and the Lake Houston Observer, and the editor of the Dayton News, Cleveland Advocate and Eastex Advocate. Over the years, she has earned more than two dozen writing awards, including Journalist of the Year.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.