Liberty swears in returning councilmen, mayor

Liberty City Council members Neal Thornton, David Arnold and Chipper Smith, and Mayor Carl Pickett (left to right) were sworn in during the Nov. 10 meeting by Municipal Court Judge Mike Little (not pictured).

Three returning members to Liberty City Council – Neal Thornton, Dr. David Arnold and Chipper Smith – and Mayor Carl Pickett took their oaths of office at the start of the Liberty City Council meeting on Tuesday. Municipal Court Judge Mike Little administered the oaths before a packed council chamber.

Councilmen Thornton, Arnold, Smith and candidate Ed Seymour vied for three at-large positions during the Nov. 3 general election, which was postponed from May due to COVID-19 lockdowns.

While Seymour had the fewest votes and therefore did not get elected, he ran an honorable and respectable race, which was pointed out by Mayor Pickett.

Council members and the mayor are elected to two-year positions. The elections are staggered so that only three council seats are up during any election.

The remaining council members are Dennis Beasley, Libby Simonson and Diane Driggers.

More on this meeting will be posted later today on Bluebonnet News.

Previous articleEncased U.S. flag found in highway near Dayton prisons
Next articleCity of Dayton honors local military veterans
Before creating Bluebonnet News in 2018, Vanesa Brashier was a community editor for the Houston Chronicle/Houston Community Newspapers. During part of her 12 years at the newspapers, she was assigned as the digital editor and managing editor for the Humble Observer, Kingwood Observer, East Montgomery County Observer and the Lake Houston Observer, and the editor of the Dayton News, Cleveland Advocate and Eastex Advocate. Over the years, she has earned more than two dozen writing awards, including Journalist of the Year.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.