Cleveland students win awards at welding contest

Salvador Laguna (left) and Danson Duzek took second place in the Brother-in-Law Challenge at Vidor High School's welding contest. The brother-in-law challenge is requires the team members to pass the arc from one electrode to another as they weld on opposite sides of a pipe. Lagunas and Buzek earned $1,500 scholarships to Mainlainers Welding Academy in Texas City, Texas.

Cleveland ISD is pleased to announce the results of the high school’s award-winning program from the Vidor welding competition.

“As always, our Cleveland welding students showed professionalism and school spirit at this competition,” according to a statement from the District.

From this competition alone, Cleveland’s welding students earned $4,750 in scholarship winnings.

Salvador Lagunas earned a Jackson Welding Helmet and $750 scholarship to Ocean Corporation – School for Underwater Welding in Houston.

The following is a list of the results for Cleveland students:

Boot up for Welders: Lance Gaskins 

Cutting Contest: Jeremias Mendez – second place

Welding Certifications: Hector Guzman – 2F and 4F, Alberto Alvarado – 4F, Jesus Reyes – 4F, Joshua Hernandez – 4F, Danson Buzek – 2G with Backing Strip

The CHS students also took second place in the Team Pipe Welding Competition.

William Guerrero earned a Jackson Welding Helmet Grinding Disk and a $1,000 scholarship to Ocean Corporation – School for Underwater Welding in Houston.
Previous articleLiberty County Jail arrest report, April 14, 2021
Next articlePet Talk: What to know about cognitive decline in aging dogs
Before creating Bluebonnet News in 2018, Vanesa Brashier was a community editor for the Houston Chronicle/Houston Community Newspapers. During part of her 12 years at the newspapers, she was assigned as the digital editor and managing editor for the Humble Observer, Kingwood Observer, East Montgomery County Observer and the Lake Houston Observer, and the editor of the Dayton News, Cleveland Advocate and Eastex Advocate. Over the years, she has earned more than two dozen writing awards, including Journalist of the Year.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.