Liberty County approved for voting centers

Casting a ballot in the Nov. 3 general election in Liberty County just got a little easier with the county approved to participate in the Texas Vote Center Program. The availability of the Texas Vote Center Program was passed by the Texas Legislature and is administered by the Secretary of State’s office.

Voting centers will allow Liberty County voters to cast their ballots on election day at any voting location in the county, regardless of their assigned polling location. This process will simply mirror what already occurs during early voting.

Participation in the program is the result of the hard work of the Liberty County Elections Administration staff. Two public hearings and an extensive application process had to be successfully completed before participation was granted.

“Residents will be able to vote at any voting location. If they live in Big Thicket and are in Liberty or Cleveland doing business, they can vote there. Say the line is 200-people deep at a location in Dayton, then the voter can go to any of the other voting locations,” said Klint Bush, elections administrator. “If they are in Plum Grove but aren’t happy about their polling location, they can drive into Cleveland and vote there instead.”

This means that election workers will no longer have to redirect voters to other polling places, ensuring that all votes are counted and residents have ample opportunities to vote on Election Day.

“We will now have 20 voting locations in the County, as opposed to 30, resulting in significant cost savings to local taxpayers. Historically, on Election Day, a voter must cast their ballot at their neighborhood polling place,” he continued.

Bush said that the establishment of voting centers is the first step in a two-step process to make voting more available to all residents.

“Step 2 is establishing a set list of polling locations, so people know what to expect and there are no surprises,” he said.

For the upcoming general election, voters should pay attention to some slight changes in polling locations as the County has had to readjust due to problems with some of the previous locations. For example, residents accustomed to voting at the Moss Hill United Pentecostal Church are being redirected to The Lighthouse Church in Moss Hill, located at 17283 SH 146. A polling location in Plum Grove also has moved from a church to the Santa Fe Administration/Activities Building, 1680 CR 3549, Plum Grove.


Moss Hill – The Lighthouse Church17283 HWY 146 North – Moss Hill
Hardin – Hardin City Hall142 County Road 2010 – Hardin
Devers – Devers ISD201 S. Chism St – Devers
Liberty – Jack Hartel Building318 San Jacinto St – Liberty
Moss Bluff – Calvary Baptist Church15 CR 129 – Liberty
Cleveland – Cleveland Civic Center210 Peach Ave – Cleveland
Tarkington – Oak Shade Baptist Church1807 Cr 2212 – Cleveland
Tarkington – Hi-Way Tabernacle108 CR 2250 – Cleveland
Dayton – Dayton ISD Admin Building100 Cherry Creek Rd – Dayton
Raywood – Sacred Heart Catholic Church3730 FM 160 N – Raywood
Daisetta – Hull-Daisetta ISD117 North Main HWY 770 Daisetta
Eastgate – St. Annes Catholic Church744 CR 622 – Dayton
Romayor – Romayor Baptist Church307 FM 2610 – Romayor
Ames – Our Mother of Mercy Catholic Church101 Donatto Road – Ames
Cleveland – Douglas School Gym900 Samuel Wiley Dr. Cleveland
Kenefick – Kenefick Southern Baptist Church3536 FM 1008 Kenefick
Dayton – Dayton Community Center801 S. Cleveland – Dayton
Plum Grove – Sante Fe Administration/Activities Bldg1680 CR 3549 – Cleveland
Westlake – South Liberty County VFD8704 FM 1409 – Dayton
Cleveland – St. Luke’s Presbyterian Church60 FM 1010 – Cleveland

Polling locations on Election Day, Nov. 3, will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.


Early voting locations include the following:

  • Cleveland Civic Center, 210 Peach Avenue, Cleveland, Texas;
  • Hardin City Hall, 142 C.R. 2010, Hardin, Texas;
  • Dayton Community Center, 801 S. Cleveland St., Dayton, Texas; and
  • Jack Hartel Community Building, 318 San Jacinto St., Liberty, Texas;

The hours and dates for early voting are Oct. 13-16, from 9 to 4 p.m.; Oct. 19, from 9 to 4 p.m.; Oct. 20-23, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Oct. 24 and 26, 9 to 4 p.m.; Oct. 27-28, from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; and Oct. 29 and 30 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.


to request a ballot by email, send a request by mailing Liberty County Election Administrators Office, 1923 Sam Houston St., Liberty, TX 77575, or by emailing


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.